Rouse Hill Town Centre - Darug Country

We acknowledge the Darug people as the Traditional Custodians of the land upon which Rouse Hill Town Centre rests. We acknowledge the Elders, both past, present and emerging.

Rouse Hill Town Centre resides upon the sacred land of the Darug People. The Darug nation (also spelt Dharuk, Dharug and Daruk) is a language group of First Nations Australians who are the traditional custodians of much of what is modern day Sydney. 

The Darug territory includes the Cumberland Plain area in Western Sydney, stretching from Wisemans Ferry in the north down to the Camden area in the south. It also extends into the foothills of the Blue Mountains in the west and the Hills District to the east.

The Darug nation was divided up into a number of clans who each tended to live in a certain geographical area.

Today, there is an active push to create awareness of the local Darug culture and its history, and also create recognition of the deeper significance of the areas in which we all live.

At Rouse Hill Town Centre, we extend a warm welcome to all First Nations people, and pay our respect to their ongoing connection to land, water and community.