Blogged by: Rouse Hill Town Centre 08 Sep 2016 View comments
Meet: Nicholas at Costi's Fishmarkets
Blogged by: Rouse Hill Town Centre 08 Sep 2016 View comments
30 years ago the Costi family started The Costi’s Fishmarket in Castle Hill.  8 years ago, the two cousins, George & George followed in the family footsteps and opened a second location at Rouse Hill Town Centre.

Last week I sat down with Nicolas, son of one of the Georges who has joined the family business.  As a lifelong vegetarian raised by a lifelong vegetarian, I know nothing about seafood and let me tell you, I am intrigued!  I begin firing off questions and George keeps up!   He tells me that to ensure they have the highest quality of fresh fish, they are down at the Sydney fish market at 3:30AM daily.  He says that the fish markets are a mad house – people literally running to get the best fish. I immediately want to see it.

Nicholas shares that the biggest day of the year is Christmas Eve and they stock so much fish on that day that they start setting up at 12AM, a full 6 hours earlier than on any other day.  The day I visit, there is a wide selection of seafood – salmon caviar, oysters, flathead, prawns, fillet, crabs and calamari!  You have the option to buy and take it home, have them cook it or even give advice on how to cook it at home – they are true experts!

Nicholas tells me that his favourite parts of his job are working with family and getting to know his customers – some customers have been coming to Costi’s for over 20 years!

To check out their wide selection and weekly specials, stop by Costi’s Fishmarket at Rouse Hill Town Centre.

Join The Conversation

comments powered by Disqus
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
Get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Opening hours
Christmas Holiday Trading Hours
Mon, 17 Dec 2018 - 9am - 7pm
Tue, 18 Dec 2018 - 9am - 7pm
Wed, 19 Dec 2018 - 9am - 7pm
Thu, 20 Dec 2018 - 9am - 10pm
Fri, 21 Dec 2018 - 9am - 9pm
Sat, 22 Dec 2018 - 9am - 7pm
Sun, 23 Dec 2018 - 9am - 6pm
Mon, 24 Dec 2018 - 9am - 5pm
Tue, 25 Dec 2018 - Closed
Wed, 26 Dec 2018 - 9am - 5pm
Thu, 27 Dec 2018 - 9am - 9pm
Fri, 28 Dec 2018 - 9am - 6pm
Sat, 29 Dec 2018 - 9am - 6pm
Sun, 30 Dec 2018 - 10am - 5pm
Mon, 31 Dec 2018 - 9am - 6pm
Tue, 01 Jan 2019 - 10am - 5pm
Regular trading hours
Mon - 9am - 6pm
Tue - 9am - 6pm
Wed - 9am - 6pm
Thu - 9am - 9pm
Fri - 9am - 6pm
Sat - 9am - 6pm
Sun - 10am - 5pm
Location
Rouse Hill Town Centre
Cnr Windsor Road and White Hart Drive
Rouse Hill NSW 2155
Phone: 02 9421 2300